The end of my year of LARP

2010 was an odd year for me, but most of the reason why isn’t really what this blog is about. However part of it was that in March last year, I somewhat rashly agreed to write a LARP for 60 odd people to be run at KaCon XX – Unnatural 20.

I say rashly because at the time I had played in exactly 3 LARPs, one of which was an experience I really didn’t enjoy. However it seemed like a challange and I liked the theme, so I said what the hell!

Al Shir-Ma, as we named our 1001 Arabian Nights themed game, ended up being an interweaving tale of magic, loss, revenge and forgiveness for 66 players. Big themes for a 3 hour game, but judging from some of the write ups I’ve read people seemed to not only get it but have a great time. Though I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t really been searching out creative criticism. It’s still a bit close.

I could go into detail about what the year was like, but I think that Dale (one of my co-writers) says it as well as I ever could. Suffice to say that I am hugely thankful that the two people who were on this journey with me. Dale and Ellen just got it. There were times when ideas didn’t quite work but we managed to work through it all, and I’m hugely proud of what we achieved.

Normally in my KapCon write ups I go into detail about the other games I ran or was in, but to be honest everything else paled in comparison to running the LARP. I spent countless hours thinking, writing, meeting, talking and emailing about this game. I dreamt about it. I stayed up till 1am rewriting a whole faction after one meeting because I couldn’t let it go. Dale said it became my baby, and it’s a good analogy because after 9 months or so, it came to life in a blinged up Wellington High School.

So I all I really need to say is thank you. Thanks to everyone who played, thanks to Dale and Ellen for the crazy ride and for making me a better writer. Thanks to Bryn and Jackie and Scott for their awesome set dressing help. Thanks to KapCon for existing.

Next year though, I think I’m just going to turn up and play.

My fellow GMs and I looking exhausted.


Leave a comment