New Mieville Extract

One of my favourite ‘speculative fiction’ authors from the last few years has to be China Mieville. Reading Perdido Street Station for the first time was a revelation. That’s still my favourite book of his and, to be honest, I haven’t enjoyd his last couple so much, but I still look forward to a new work with some anticipation. The combination of the grotesque, fantastical and political really appeals to me even when he’s not at his best.

Kraken is his upcoming book (out in the UK in May) and there’s an extract at the publisher’s website. It’s just a short one but it’s a great set up. It’s a return to the real real world – actual London (like in King Rat) rather than made up eastern Europe (like in The City & The City) so that will be interesting. Most people, including myself if I’m honest, would prefer a return to Bas-Lag, the world of Perdido Street Station, The Scar and Iron Council, but a man’s gotta write what he’s gotta write – the worst possible thing would be a new Bas-Lag novel just for the hope of selling more copies!

I waited to buy The City & The City until I saw it on sale and I suspect I’ll wait for this in paperback too, unless it gets really seriously good reviews. Luckily Mieville is one of those guys who everyone has an opinion on so at least there will eb lots of reviews.


Leave a comment